Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Bleach as sanitizer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2009, 02:20 AM   #21
The Pol
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by BierMuncher View Post
Yeah, but 96 Oz of Walmart bleach costs about $7.00.
True, but how many GALLONS of mixture do you make for a brew day? If you make 3 gallons to my one quart, you are using 12x as much solution as I am.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2009, 03:20 AM   #22
PseudoChef

Recipes 

Liked 102 Times on 75 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Yuri's calculations still assume you dump out Star San after one use. I have been using the same mixture for about 4 months now. No infections (unless on purpose ) to speak of.

Old 02-13-2009, 03:56 AM   #23
pizzaman
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Bleach Rules!!!!

funny how all this ranting could've been avoided by a simple use of the search function...or google.

Back in prohibition days, moonshiners would add chemicals such as bleach to their brews to give it a little extra kick...white lightning anyone?

Old 02-13-2009, 08:21 AM   #24
The Pol
Recipes 

Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzaman View Post
funny how all this ranting could've been avoided by a simple use of the search function...or google.

Back in prohibition days, moonshiners would add chemicals such as bleach to their brews to give it a little extra kick...white lightning anyone?
I dont see this thread as a rant... more like a factually based investigation as to why Idophor or StarSan would be considered expensive, when it is cheaper than any other (that I know of) method available to the average Joe.

Old 02-13-2009, 09:23 AM   #25
EvilTOJ

Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 29 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzaman View Post