Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Biggest Difference in the Taste of Beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2007, 01:06 AM   #1
Rockweezy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Biggest Difference in the Taste of Beer?

I was wondering as I am relatively new to homebrewing (6 under the belt so far), what changes the taste of a beer the most considering all other things being equal ie. sanitation, temperature, and over variables? Say I am brewing a pale ale, will the hops, type of malt, yeast, or grains I use change the taste the most? Obviously, the differences will change the taste somewhat. Lets say I use the same ingredients, but consitently use different type of hops using the same hop schedule and same weight hops (Cascades vs. Willamette) would that change the taste more than say using different types of pale ale malts and using the same hops over and over? Hopefully somewhat understands what I am talking about.

Last edited by Rockweezy; 01-04-2007 at 01:08 AM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2007, 02:26 AM   #2
RichBrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 83 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 67

To me, changing the variety of hops makes a subtle difference. Changing the amount of hops makes a huge difference. I will admit that I'm no expert when it comes to hops. It's one part of brewing that I haven't figured out. One reason is because I'm NOT a hop head.

The different malts can also drastically change the flavor of the beer. Adding anything from sweetness, roastyness, nuttiness, smoked, to even burnt flavors. Again, different amounts of malt will also change flavor and mouth feel (as well as alcohol content which is part of the flavor).

Cheers,
Rich

Old 01-04-2007, 02:29 AM   #3
Dude
Will work for beer

Recipes 

Liked 55 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 5