Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Best Beer Bars in America

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2005, 09:57 PM   #21
Toilet Rocker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

That joint in DC sounds sweet, but I think that the "BEST beer bar" would have to be based on certain factors. Of course selection is nice if you're going to travel down the exotic list, but the place also needs atmosphere, comfort, darts or pool (if you play), etc. Selection is important, but it isn't everything. That said, I need to schedule a road trip to DC to check the joint out.

When people ask what I do for a living, I say I brew beer. No, not as a profession, but to live.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2005, 07:49 PM   #22
Cheesefood
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 22 Posts

Brew Bars
Ram - Schaumburg, IL
Goose Island - Chicago, IL
The Assembly - Hoffman Estates, IL

The Assembly is now one of my favorites. They have fantastic food and really really good beer.

Real Bars
Red Star - Glenview, IL
The Lumpy Pickle - Joliet, IL
The Curragh - Schaumburg, IL
The Stadium - Rolling Meadows, IL

The Curragh is one of those truly authentic "everything from Ireland" bars. Meaning that the food is terrible, but the ambience is almost stiffling.

I'm into dive bars really. I like an empty, dirty bar over a chic club. Red Star is the only treny bar on my list because they have some 200+ beers on tap. Their beer menu is at least double the size of their food menu. Apart from the 200 on draught, they have hundreds in the bottle.

The Lumpy Pickle is just a local dive that I hung out at when I lived in Joliet. They had hundreds of bottled beers and one of those "100 beer" clubs where you'd get your pic on the wall for drinking 100 different types. Most tasted like hell.