The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Bells Two-Hearted Sub

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2009, 05:05 PM   #11
peripatetic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by grove View Post
Mind if I ask what yeast you used?

I brewed a PM variation of the OP recipe last weekend and pitched a 1400ml starter of WLP001 into it (1.060 OG, I'm still new at this). Fermentation started within 8 hrs and has been going strong for 4 days now. A good bit of krausen came down thru the blowoff tube as well.
We both used the Safale US-05 Ale Yeast that is recommended for this kit by Northern Brewer. We didn't use a starter, but both of us rehydrated the dry yeast. His OG was around 1.060, mine was around 1.070. I think the only real difference was that he topped off with more water at the end than I did.

-------------------------------------------------
Donated all of my gear to my Paduan Learner before recent move to West Coast. Now I get to buy all new stuff, but I certainly don't have anything brewing right now!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2009, 05:36 PM   #12
bdnoona
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Centennial and Amarillo are very different hops. However, I made a THA clone from AHS that used Amarillo due to the hop shortage at the time. It was an AMAZING beer and far better than the original IMO.

Fermenting, aging, kegged, bottled, drinking, etc... Who's got time to keep their sig updated?
The answer to all is: something (hopefully good).

Go White Sox! http://www.sox35th.com/

Old 11-11-2009, 05:38 PM   #13
Homercidal
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 1900 Times on 1371 Posts
Likes Given: 1045

Well, I agree that using Amarillo is not going to make a beer that tastes like Bells' Two Hearted, Founder's Double Trouble uses Amarillo and Simcoe. That's a pretty tasty IIPA IMO, so I say go for it. You might end up with an even tastier beer than you were shooting for!