Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > belgians for noobs

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2013, 01:00 AM   #1
ronjonacron
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 21 Posts

Default belgians for noobs

Ive been drinking craft beer for about 5 or 6 years now and have been homebrewing for almost 2. Im trying to start with basics and work my way out. It seems to me that "belgians" vary almost as much ad ales' themselves.

Ive had pretty much every different belgian offered in my local area. Now my question would be, what is the "pale ale" of belgians? Golden? Dubbel? Abbey/trappist?

Im gonna pick up a couple more books probably next week including brewing classic styles, and one another which the name evades right at this moment. Will a couple books give me a little more insight?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2013, 01:06 AM   #2
ronjonacron
Recipes 

Two specific ones that i really enjoyed were three philosophers (though a little on the get schwasted after 2 side) andt he unibroque coriander citrusy one. If that helps guide my original question at all.

Old 02-19-2013, 01:37 AM   #3
Cincy17
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 5

There is a style that is just Belgian pale ale. If you look up the style on BJCP it will give you some commercial examples and all the info about the style. I've really started getting into belgians recently, I don't know about any books but I'd be interested too if you found anything.

Old 02-19-2013, 01:42 AM   #4
dlaramie08
Recipes 

Liked 59 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 2

You might also look at saison as well. Pretty simple beer.

Old 02-19-2013, 01:45 AM   #5
ronjonacron
Recipes 

I think the other one i was looking as is designing great beers or something close to that. Im on my phone so im not looking it up, thanks for the pointer on bjcp thats a good idea i forgot they do reference commercial brews.