Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   General Beer Discussion (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/)
-   -   Austin Homebrew Supply-small complaint (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f14/austin-homebrew-supply-small-complaint-24332/)

Hardball 03-10-2007 05:42 PM

Austin Homebrew Supply-small complaint
 
I emailed AHB with a small complaint that new brewers should know about their kits. The hops are not pre-measured. They come in 1oz sealed packages, so if you need .25oz of hops for an addition you have to guess-timate. Also, for me who does not brew a lot, I end up throwing out .75 oz of good hops.

I ended my email by letting them know that they have my business forever on the kits (I just racked my FT Clone from primary to secondary and drank the hydrometer sample, I could have drank a bottle of it right there!!), and that I loved their store.

Alamo_Beer 03-10-2007 05:46 PM

you don't have to throw them out...just freeze them in a sandwich bag and mark what it is..

I guesstimate....but I'm a good guesser

Dude 03-10-2007 05:55 PM

Yeah, don't throw them out. Save them for the next time!

Willsellout 03-10-2007 06:17 PM

I just toss them in till I think it's right, but I love hops. I also recently bought a digital scale which eliminates the guesswork.


Dan

TheJadedDog 03-10-2007 07:44 PM

Don't throw out your hops. Even if you don't brew every weekend, hops in the freezer can keep for some time.

boo boo 03-10-2007 07:55 PM

Don't want good hops? Save them up in your freezer and when you get a pound or so mail them to me and I'll refund your postage, lol.

FlyGuy 03-10-2007 09:42 PM

Yeah, don't through out those hops. Keep them in the freezer until you brew up a hoppy APA or IPA, then throw them in the secondary. I drop hop almost all my American-style beers, to some extent.

Hardball 03-10-2007 10:41 PM

Once again I learned something useful today about brewing using this forum.

Thanks everybody.

:mug:

Schlenkerla 03-10-2007 11:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hardball
I emailed AHB with a small complaint that new brewers should know about their kits. The hops are not pre-measured. They come in 1oz sealed packages, so if you need .25oz of hops for an addition you have to guess-timate. Also, for me who does not brew a lot, I end up throwing out .75 oz of good hops.

See if you can get yourself one of these at the LHBS. - A whopping $3.50!! :D

http://www.mrbeer.com/view.php?id=hopscale&toplevel=Accessories&currenti tem=22&showgroup=Accessories&menu=sub5&mactive=4&s ubactive=-1

I have one of these. It works very well and is easy to use.

I grow my own hops and packed the whole crop last year using this. ~6 oz. into 1/4oz baggies.

david_42 03-11-2007 01:07 AM

Leftovers go in the freezer. I made an ale last year using 7 different hops, five of them leftovers from AHB kits.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.