Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Anyone been to Europe?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2007, 04:12 PM   #1
Alembician
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Anyone been to Europe? / European breweries

I'm studying in Germany starting next week, for 8 weeks and I need some tips on where to go (beer-wise). I want to hit every brewery that I can, or at least the best. If you've been or know of any great breweries, let me know. I have a train pass that gets me anywhere in Europe. We are planning excursions to The Netherlands, Belgium, France, Switzerland, & Austria. I'm going to school in Heidelberg though. So please suggest away. I'm looking forward to hearing what everyone says.
Bobby

Last edited by Alembician; 05-25-2007 at 04:20 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2007, 04:13 PM   #2
The Drizzle

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

I'm interested to hear as well, i'm making a kamikaze trip to germany on the 4th-8th of june. I got a 4 day german rail pass. Bamburg, Koln, and Munchen are the itinerary so far.

ugh

Old 05-25-2007, 05:08 PM   #3
homebrewer_99

Recipes 

Liked 82 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I lived in Germany for 9 years. I have been almost everywhere, but to answer your question could take me years to reply to.

I lived in Augsburg and Bamberg. Augsburg is 40 miles from Munich. Definitely hit the 6 breweries there as well as the Hofbrauhuas (just to say you've been there). There are 9 breweries in Bamberg. My favorites were Maisal and Fassla. There is another brewery, Special, right across the street from the Fassla, Greifenklau (Griffin's Claw) up the hill toward the castle.