Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Allergic rash-type reaction on hands - Grains?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2010, 04:35 AM   #1
jjones17
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Allergic rash-type reaction on hands - Grains?

Howdy all!

I was wondering if anyone else has experienced a rash on their hands from handling grains. I started to break out in this weird rash on the back of my hands and between the joints of my fingers (on the back side) a month or so after I started brewing. I thought it was just due to seasonal eczema I experience once every 5 years or so, although that usually shows up on my feet.

Anyway, I had to go like FOUR WHOLE WEEKS without brewing anything due to scheduling conflicts, and I noticed my rash started going away. Then, this weekend I brewed 2 huge batches - An American wheat using cascades, and a nice Rye IPA with amarillo/cascade combo. Anyway, on Tuesday the rash came back - WITH A VENGEANCE. This is starting to become a pain in the ass.

Not to sound like a wuss, but I work in a service related industry and I present contracts and documents to clients all the time - A nasty skin bubbling rash does not exactly inspire confidence if you know what I mean.

I used to think it was the latex gloves I use in brewing while I sanitize - however, I debunked that as during my 4 week hiatus I bottled 2 batches and used the gloves. Maybe I need to purchase some gloves to wear while handling the grain? Any one else get this?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2010, 07:08 AM   #2
Clonefarmer
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjones17 View Post
Howdy all!