Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Aging Big beers, time and temperature.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2009, 09:59 PM   #1
Rubberband
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Aging Big beers, time and temperature.

I have a Scotch Ale that will have been on the yeast cake for three weeks soon, the OG was 1.088. I had planned to rack to a secondary carboy and bulk age the brew. I plan on aging it for 3 months at 68 degrees prior to bottling. I will then rack to bottles and age another 4 to 6 months at 56 degrees before drinking. My question is what it the best temperature or mix of temperatures for aging the beer? My basement is about 56 degrees constant and I have a fermchamber that is heated to 68 degrees.

I have no "big beer" experience and the recipe says to bottle after three weeks and age for 3 months in the bottle at room temperature. I may be able to drink it by then but it sounds pretty fast to me. I want to let the yeast clean it up a little prior to drinking. Any advice would be appreciated.

zum Wohl

"A man who carries a cat by the tail, learns something he can learn in no other way." - Mark Twain

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2009, 10:08 PM   #2
Clonefarmer
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 5

The basement is a good place to store them, just make sure they are in a dark area.

Kit directions are usually generic when it comes to aging.

Old 03-30-2009, 12:10 AM   #3
Rubberband
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

In the bottle or in Bulk? Is there an benefit in bulk aging or is it just a matter of aging regardless of what it's in?

zum Wohl

"A man who carries a cat by the tail, learns something he can learn in no other way." - Mark Twain

Old 03-30-2009, 01:21 AM   #4
HotbreakHotel
Recipes