The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > AG Brewer Back to Extract I think...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2009, 04:31 AM   #1
Rockweezy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default AG Brewer Back to Extract I think...

I started brewing AG after I bought a 10 gallon 3 tier gravity brew set up with 3 keggles. I fly sparge, too. However, all five of my Ales (2 pales, 2 ambers, and a brown) have had a similar off taste (50 gal. is a lot of a beer if you don't particularly like it). They are more like each other than not. I used different hops in most of the brews, but always the WLP 001 California Ale yeast. I use Beer Tools to help me covert 5 gal. batches to 10 gal.

I have a fridge that is temp controlled at 68 and let my beers sit there for at least 4 weeks each time. My only success was an oatmeal stout (which had a stuck sparge, which took an hour to unclog). Go figure. Anyways, I never had a problem with 5 gallon extract brews before this, so I was thinking I might go back and try a 10 gallon recipe that I know and trust. If this tastes the same way, I'll be able to pinpoint problems in theory. Either way I figure I'll gain knowledge from doing this.

1. Is this a reasonable way to go about things?

2. Should try to perfect one AG or extract before moving forward?

3. Should I make a yeast starter?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2009, 04:36 AM   #2
SourHopHead

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

What was the off taste?

FV's- Flanders Red, Munich Helles x2, Apfelwein, Hard Lemonade
SV1- Pumpkin Spice
SV2- Hard Cider
SV3- Empty
Kegs- Green Chili Ale, Watermelon Sour

On Deck: Celebration Ale Clone

"Be Good or Be Gone." EST. 1854
Shazbot Blonde

Old 01-27-2009, 06:11 AM   #3
Rockweezy
Recipes 

It is really hard for me to judge my own beer, but my guesses would be: