Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Advice on final steps to my Quad Belgian

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2011, 04:52 PM   #1
strongarm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Advice on final steps to my Quad Belgian

It's now been 15 days and my Belgian Quad with a OG of 1.109 is now at 1.032 with a weak bubble every 60 seconds. It has stayed around 1.032 for the last 2 days. I was going to move to a secondary glass carboy but It appears that alot of people go right to bottle conditioning. Also I have read recommendations to add yeast to the bottle conditioning to get better carbonation but I have never done that before, I usually just use 5 oz of priming corn sugar. Should I go straight to bottles or let it sit in my secondary for a few months before going to bottle? Is the corn sugar primer going to be sufficient for conditioning when I do go to bottle or do I need to look at adding yeast or more sugar? I don't want to mess this one up. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2011, 05:32 PM   #2
plumbob
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Age it as long as you can, these big light Belgians taste like rocket fuel out of the fermenter. Let it be in the primary at least a month, then decide if you will bottle straight away or secondary... That decision is something I'll let others argue about.

Corn sugar is all you'll need to get it carbed, but yeast might be a different story. What kind of yeast did you use? With 10% alcohol most of your trappist strains will do just fine without the need to add additional yeast. If you used something with a 10% tolerance you'll get a slow carb. But I would wager it'll still happen.