Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Adding malt extract at end of boil

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2009, 02:32 AM   #1
biojen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Adding malt extract at end of boil

I recently ordered an extract kit from Austin Homebrew Supply. The instructions say to add all of the malt extract and malto dextrin at the end of the boil, after removing the wort from the heat.

I've been brewing extract kits for several years, and have never encountered instructions quite like this before.

What is the reason for boiling the malt for less than 60 minutes, or in this case, not at all?

(This is one of AHS's "Session Series" extract kits, designed for a rapid brew that I can drink while I'm waiting on my holiday ale and imperial stout to mature to maximum tastiness.)

Thanks!

Jen

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 02:41 AM   #2
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 432 Times on 353 Posts
Likes Given: 60

The malt has already been boiled. Mainly what you are after with the boil is hop utilization and sterilizsation. It sounds like the recipe assumes a fairly low gravity during the boil to get the correct amount of hop utilization. I assume there are steeping grains in the kit, right? Or, I suppose the other possibility is that the it's using a hopped wort extract and there are no hop additions in the kit...

Old 10-12-2009, 02:44 AM   #3
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 957 Times on 680 Posts
Likes Given: 2028

Hi Jen and welcome!

Two thoughts:

1. Late addition extract brewing is a trusted technique. It gives you a lighter color and reduces the chances of carmelization, which is a greater risk in partial boil extract brewing. But, you don't add *all* the extract at the end - you need some wort to fully utilize the hops during the boil. Is this a partial mash recipe?