Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Adding liqour to a pale ale?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2008, 06:22 AM   #1
SudsItUp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Adding liqour to a pale ale?

I'm fairly new to brewing (In fact I'm still using Mr.Beer). However, I am currently brewing a pale ale and I was wondering if anyone has added a type of liquor to any of their's for added flavor. I'm still fairly new to brewing so any help or direction would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2008, 06:26 AM   #2
lordbeermestrength
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Hmmm... Not to a pale ale. A RIS, perhaps... maybe others have suggestions.

Beer, happy Produce of our Isle/Can sinewy Strength impart,
And wearied with Fatigue and Toil/Can cheer each manly Heart.
Labour and Art upheld by Thee/Successfully advance,
We quaff Thy balmy Juice with Glee/And Water leave to France.
Genius of Health, thy grateful Taste/Rivals the Cup of Jove,
And warms each English generous Breast/With Liberty and Love!
(Rev James Townley, 1751)

Old 12-27-2008, 08:20 AM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2728 Times on 1636 Posts
Likes Given: 3485

Uh...why???

Some beers like stouts and such might benefit from, lets say, bourbon soaked oak chips...but a pale ale? Why...isn't a good beer flavorful enough for you?