Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > 6% laws?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2007, 07:12 PM   #1
zoebisch01
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
zoebisch01's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 5,198
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default 6% laws?

Just out of curiosity...

I never knew there were 6% laws in some states. In fact, I was surprised to learn that PA had this some time ago. So for those of you that are in a '6% and less state' does that mean you can't brew anything over 6% or just can't buy it?

__________________
Event Horizon ~ A tribute to the miracle of fermentation.

Brew what you like. Do this, and you will find your inner brewer.
zoebisch01 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 07:45 PM   #2
Fire_travels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Fire_travels's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central, Wisconsin
Posts: 214
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I didn't know PA had a 6% law!

Not to be rude, but I have a 6 pack of Troegs "Troegenator Doublebock" here (I reused Alot of there bottles) and it says right on it 8.2% ABV. If you ask me I didn't like there Doublebock.. I couldn't get past such the stong alcohol tast!

__________________
primary = Nomadic Caribou Stout, 10 gallons Extra Pale Ale

1 gal. Primary = 2 gallons of Blueberry wine with a hint of honey

kegged = Three Hearted IPA
Fire_travels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 08:04 PM   #3
RoaringBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
RoaringBrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 1,859
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Not too sure on this law, but I've bought many, many beers here in PA that are > 6%ABV. There are two pubs I pick up mixed 6 packs and many of them are often over this threshhold...

I also just bought a case of 22oz. Stone AB at a distributor and I know for a fact this is 7.2%.

Also, there are many breweries in PA brewing > 6% beers. Troegs, Appalachian, Wyerbacher, etc. etc. etc. all have beers > than this.

So, not too sure on this law...

__________________
RoaringBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 08:06 PM   #4
RoaringBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
RoaringBrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lancaster County, PA
Posts: 1,859
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

If it is just a law for homebrewing > 6%ABV beers, that seems a little weird... and I would just follow a 'dont ask, dont tell' philosophy and you'll be just fine...

__________________
RoaringBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 08:18 PM   #5
TheJadedDog
AFK ATM
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TheJadedDog's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: People's Republic of Cambridge
Posts: 3,323
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

My guess is these laws aren't that stongly enforced, I mean, I live in Rhode Island and we have something like 30 blue laws that are leftover from who knows when and no one really pays attention to them (plus in Boston, it's illegal to eat peanuts on the steps of a church).

The only place I would truly be concerned about being a homebrewer is in UT and even there I think people manage just fine.

__________________
And now we go AG!

On Tap: Nadda
Primary: Nadda
Planning: Extra Special Bitter
TheJadedDog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 08:22 PM   #6
zoebisch01
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
zoebisch01's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 5,198
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Oh sorry for the confusion! I didn't mean to say that PA still had it in effect, but rather was once in effect.

__________________
Event Horizon ~ A tribute to the miracle of fermentation.

Brew what you like. Do this, and you will find your inner brewer.
zoebisch01 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 08:26 PM   #7
Driftless Brewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 50
Default

Iowa has this law and it only effects the licensing. If a bar wants to sell beer above 6% they need a liquor license.

__________________
Driftless Brewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 09:49 PM   #8
sirsloop
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South River, NJ
Posts: 2,592
Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Even if its a real law, who cares? Does the homebrew police knock on your door with a hydrometer or something on brew day??

The 6% law probably applies to micro breweries or other facilities with public serving licenses. IE, you can't serve anything over 6% without a "liquor license"... anything under may fall into a "beer license".

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~___//_ ____________________________~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~_/ [][]| | /```\/```\/```\/```\/```\ |~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~_/_______| |____NOW TRIPLE HOPPED______|~~~~~~~~~~
~~~___/[_]| 00 /| | \,,,/\,,,/\,,,/\,,,/\,,,/ |~~~~~~~~~~
~~|___|___|___/_| |___________________________|~~~~~~~~~~
~~|=(*)[________]==(*)(*)=| \________/=(*)(*)=|~~~~~~~~~~
sirsloop is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 09:54 PM   #9
Monster Mash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 1,322
Liked 85 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Evert state that allows homebrewing has a 200 gallon limit for households with 2 adults. How many people abide by that?

I know I do!!

__________________
My 1BBL Brewery Pics
Monster Mash is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2007, 10:32 PM   #10
Erbium:YAG
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Erbium:YAG's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 430
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

This is the best place to look up local Homebrewing laws. I do believe that I have seen the law stated in a few states, that you can't home brew anything above 6% ABV. How they really would enforce it is another question.

http://www.beertown.org/homebrewing/legal.html

I just browsed through the laws quickly and it appears that there is a 6% ABV restriction in the following states: Georgia, North Carolina, Vermont and West Virginia.

In Texas, there is a 4% ABW restriction which translates into a 5% ABV!

Again, like I said, "How they really would enforce it is another question."

__________________

Last edited by Erbium:YAG; 03-05-2007 at 11:09 PM.
Erbium:YAG is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HBT Laws Loweface General Chit Chat 11 07-15-2008 04:30 PM
Laws on homebrewing? Dave the Brewer General Beer Discussion 8 12-29-2007 05:24 PM
Laws Brewers United Mead Forum 1 02-06-2006 07:29 PM