Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > 3.2% States and their beer/wine regulations...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2010, 03:28 PM   #31
McKBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by KiltedCorpse View Post
Been to Moab with my Jeep club.
Another Jeeper

Make Beer, Not War.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2013, 02:19 AM   #32
teekay
Recipes 

Default Finally found others talking about 3.2 beer.

I am new to South Dakota and when I asked others about this they did not have the faintest idea what I was talking about. Maybe the laws have changed and I am not aware of it. I grew up in California and it was known as a 3.2 beer state. California did have what I would call beer, using the term 'beer' loosely, but if it the ABV was >3.2 then it had to be sold as a malt liquor or a lager. Years ago when I was in Minnesota my relatives said that if you go to a state liquor store look for the label 'strong' stamped in canned beer for beer that is above that level. I should mention that I am speaking of the ABV percentage. I understand that Idaho sells 'strong' beer. I was in Colorado and they had strong beer. One explanation I got was that states in which the drinking age was 18, to avoid losing federal money for street or highway support had to sell 3.2 beer to anyone older than 18 but under 21 years of age. The 3.2 beer could be purchased in grocery stores and the like but strong beer had to be bought in state liquor stores. When I look on the web I don't seem to be asking the right question or things have changed since I was younger. The term 'Near Beer' was used on the web as another name for 3.2 beer and while it may be similar in California when I was growing up it was not considered beer at all. It simply tasted like beer and was sold to minors that wanted to act like they were grown up. Rec