Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > 2 weeks in primary vs 1

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2009, 03:55 PM   #1
skyzo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default 2 weeks in primary vs 1

OK so I am still a newbie brewer, but I've been reading a ton on here, and searched quite a few threads, and saw that quite a few of you let the brew sit in the primary fermenter for 2 weeks, and others go 1 or so in the primary and then a 2 in the secondary. I was thinking about letting my cream ale go 2 in the primary and straight to bottling and letting the bottles age for 2-3 weeks. Would that be OK?
Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2009, 04:02 PM   #2
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 430 Times on 351 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Yes, should be fine.

Old 10-01-2009, 04:05 PM   #3
Hound_Dog
Recipes 

You will be fine. Go longer if you want. If you search for extended primary you will find that many people here will leave a beer in primary for much longer than 2 weeks. I currently have an IPA that has been in primary for over 5 weeks and I might finally bottle it tonight.

My dog smells like PineSol and he insists on sitting on my lap.

Old 10-01-2009, 04:06 PM   #4
humann_brewing
More Humann than human
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 311 Times on 309 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Number of days are arbitrary when it comes to fermenting/conditioning. As you move on in beer making you will start to learn that you go by feel and looks and of course your hydrometer. Typically 1-2 weeks is far less that what is needed for a beer to clear.

The word secondary is kinda mis-leading too, you basically want to clear your beer as much as possible before putting it in your serving container whether that is bottles or a keg.