Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > 2 months away from Homebrew

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2009, 01:19 AM   #1
fivehoursfree
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default 2 months away from Homebrew

So, me being a teacher, I have the summer off, and have spent the better part of June and July on the road. Unfortunately I couldn't take any homebrew with me. Fortunately, I HAD to sample some of the local offerings, with mixed results.

So I've had a weird relationship with my homebrew, in that I was never really satisfied with it. I have thought many times of just sticking to commercial brew. Anyways, so I just got back and cracked open one of my own. It was glorious. Sure I still think some commercial beers are better, but I also realize that mine are better than MANY commercials.
So here is a "Cheers" to HB after 2 months without.

And as a service to the community here are my thoughts on some beers I encountered:

Monks Ale: From Pecos, NM. One of my top 3 all-time. If you are ever in NorthWest NM, look for it; I've never had it on tap, though. To me, a perfect blend of maltiness and hopiness.

Santa Fe Brewing: A good solid company. Their "State Penn Porter" is one of my top 5. Their Nut Brown is one of their signature brews, but I wasn't impressed with it. Their tasting room was pretty fun. It was small, with some regulars walking behind the bar and filling themselves, while the bartender tended to us tourists. The head brewer signed a bottle for one of us.

Alaskan Brewing: In Alaska, unless you want the normal BMC, you drink Alaskan or Deshutes, which for some reason is in bottles is all over as well. I wasn't impressed. Their Belgian whilte wasn't all that great, nor was the Stout. Their best offering was probably their Amber; my GF like the Summer (Kolsh).