Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > 12 gallon carboy fermenter - really

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2012, 06:32 PM   #1
gfd622
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default 12 gallon carboy fermenter - really

Hey all,

Just a quick note, I've been brewing for 4 years. Started off like all, switched to all grain, and never looked back. It's a great hobby, I love it. I'm set up for 5 gallon batches, so I've never really thought of other things. Until...

I just found a 12 gallon glass carboy and thought, this is awesome, I could make a double batch in that. The very simple obvious question here is - does anybody do that (or should I just dream, and really forget about it because it's just too hard). Would it work to make 5 gallons, then make 5 gallons again, so a double long brew day - but really I could use the mash tun once - start that process, then use the mash tun again while the first brews. Should only take an extra hour or so.

I don't have a way to boil 15+ gallons of liquid, nor would I have a way to transfer 10 gallons when finished (beyond just lifting it up and pouring, but it would be heavy).

What do you think?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2012, 06:42 PM   #2
BetterSense
Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 35 Posts

pics.

Old 06-06-2012, 06:44 PM   #3
kpr121
Recipes 

Liked 58 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 57

A few questions:

1. How much is it? If its free/cheap, go for it. You can use it now if you want, but if/when you upgrade to larger system it will be more useful.

2. How big is it? You have to think about how you are going to ferment in it. I get scared moving my 5 gallons glass carboys around, I wouldn’t attempt to pick up a 12 gallon one if my life depended on it after hearing all the horror stories about glass chards going through peoples hands/arms/legs/etc.