Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Food and Beverage > Cheese Making Forum > Making mesophiolic starter from buttermilk

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2009, 08:01 PM   #1
cheesenbeermmm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Making mesophiolic starter from buttermilk

Hey, I am going to try making my mesophilic starter from buttermilk. I am very much a "do it from scratch" sorta guy. I found some simple directions online, but am wondering if the collective experience out there has any suggestions, warnings, or special steps to take (I'm well aware of sanitation). The directions are basically to leave two cups at room temp for 6 to 8 hours till its like yogurt consistency, put it in ice cube trays and freeze.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2009, 03:08 AM   #2
ryane
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Im no expert on this, as Ive only done 3 aged cheeses so far, but I do not like using buttermilk as the starter for a cheese. I did it on my second cheese, and it didnt turn out anywhere near the 1st or 3rd batches(both used commercial cultures)

it could be something in my process i guess, but that experience turned me off to using it for that, now for using to make buttermilk that will work great!

Old 06-06-2009, 05:42 PM   #3
cheesenbeermmm
Recipes 

Well, I went ahead and did it. The milk didn't thicken all that much, but did have a sour taste and smell, so after about 24 hours I froze it in ice cube trays. Next day I did the Bondon recipe in Ricki Carroll's book. It turned out great, but I don't have an example to compare it to one that has been made with a commercial starter.

The cheese has a smooth texture like cream cheese, but a flavor that is a little lemony with light tang, kinda like what ya get from a fresh goat's cheese. Not very strong, and very enjoyable. A cheese that I will definitely make again.