Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Yeast starter or not??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2008, 02:42 AM   #11
archmaker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Second time I used a starter and I was glad that I did.

I am not an expert (far from it!) but I layed out my vial of WLP002 out in the morning wrapped in a towel, so it would warm up gradually.

Got home late that night, go my starter ready to go, shook my vial and looked at it and looked good. Opened and when I went to dump it into the starter it was a pretty solid plug of yeast. Couldn't tell it while it was in the vial, because some of it did dissolve.

Well with the use of a starter and stirplate it broke up the "chunk" and 5 hours after I put my starter into primary I had fermentation.

What did the starter do, reduce my worry. I knew I had time, I knew that if I had not used a starter and had put that chunk in the primary, and then have a slow start on the fermantation I would have worried.

I liked knowing having to worry about one less thing at the end of a 4-5 hour brew cycle is nice.

I am prepared to meet my maker, however, I am not sure that my maker is prepared for the ordeal of meeting me. -Churchhill

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2008, 12:35 AM   #12
RegionalChaos
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I'm planning on brewing up my second batch soon. An IPA made with WLP041, pacific ale yeast. I'm not sure what the O.G. will be yet, since it is a custom 5 gallon recipe. Some people have said that they will use starters if it is at all a liquid yeast, but the White Labs folks say the yeast should be good as is until an O.G. of 1.060 or more.