wort chilling with a refridgerator/freezer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I suspect that's a lot more work than your fridge was designed to handle and it's not going to be fast either. You need the amazing thermal capacity of liquid to do this job.

I tried mine in the freezer. Didn't work as good as the ice water bath in the sink IMO. I'm guessing the direct contact between the ice water and th pot works way better than just cold air. Let's hear what the pros have to say I'm a newb.

Only twice, but it was a commercial walk-in freezer. Lots of coolth and fans to speed heat removal. The biggest problem is air doesn't remove heat well. If your refrigerator lacks a circulation fan cooling will be slow.

If beer is the only think in there, it's still going to take a long time. Air has a much lower heat capacity than water. That's a LOT of heat and residential fridges are not made to remove that much at a time.

Wouldn't that also create a lot of condensation? I think that you would end up having a big puddle drain out of there. Also it would take a really long time and pretty much negate your aroma hops.

Cheers

think about how long it takes a room temperature soda to get down to 40F in the fridge.

HOURS..probably 2-3 hours to get 12 oz to drop 30 degrees.

I'd say it'll take at least 12-18 hours to drop 5 gallons from 210F to 70F for pitching at normal fridge temp.

Yeah, it'd take quite some time. It takes 20 minutes or so for my hydrometer jar full of 165F wort after my mash to cool to around 80 so I can take a reading. I couldn't immagine 5 gallons from boiling, that's a lot of energy to take out of it.