Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > What's the best way to dry hop???

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2013, 07:24 PM   #1
homebrewbeliever
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default What's the best way to dry hop???

Okay, so I'm relatively new to brewing (only 16 batches under my belt), and I've only dry-hopped about 4 of them. I originally tried dry hopping in carboys using hop bags, but it was a total pain in the ass to get them both in and out of the carboy. I have had relative success just throwing whole hops into the carboy and then racking the beer on top of them when transferring to secondary. Still, it is quite difficult to get all of the hops wet enough that they make full contact with the beer, as you can see in this picture:

I've thought about putting the hops in hop bags in a brew bucket and using that for secondary, but my brew buckets are plastic and I heard that you don't want to use plastic vessels for your secondary fermenter (although I don't know if this is true).

Anyone care to share how they've successfully dry hopped??? A picture or two would be awesome as well...

For eclectic escapades in home-brewed deliciousness:
http://homebrewbeliever.blogspot.com

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 08:06 PM   #2
Psych
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Here's what doesn't work, for me:

- Dry hopping loose pellets in a bucket or carboy: nightmare to siphon beer from, and much as people say they settle, they don't settle fast enough for me (2 weeks and still had two inches of floating hops at the bottom. Lost a lot of beer.

- Bagged leaf hops in bucket/carboy: This bag just didn't want to sink, so by itself this didn't get much contact.