New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > What about fermenting 3 gal batches in 5 gal carboys?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2013, 02:57 AM   #1
Odinperez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Likes Given: 1

Default What about fermenting 3 gal batches in 5 gal carboys?

I would like to know your opinion about what could go wrong in fermenting 3 gal batches of beer in 5 gal carboys. I'm intending to do this because I don't want the krausen to get out of the air lock and all that kind of problems I have had sometimes when there's a lot of krausen forming, I know this is depending on the style, but with stouts I have allways had this problem.

Thank you!



__________________
Odinperez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 03:02 AM   #2
lowtones84
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montclair, New Jersey
Posts: 949
Liked 54 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 134

Default

I've fermented 3 gallon batches in 7.5 gallon buckets as well as a 6.5 gallon carboy. It was only primary though and I tried to keep it fairly short (2-3 weeks). So far I haven't noticed any problems despite the massive head space.



__________________
lowtones84 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 03:04 AM   #3
gbx
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 573
Liked 64 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I split most of my 5gal batches between 2 6gal better bottle carboys. It works awesome.

__________________
gbx is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 04:40 AM   #4
Gavagai
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lincoln, Massachusetts
Posts: 174
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

1. Do it. Lots of headspace is no problem in primary.
2. Your only concern is krausen? Have you heard of a blow off tube?

Gavagai is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 11:59 AM   #5
Grantman1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 351
Liked 35 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

I ferment 3 gal batches in a five gal carboy all the time, and never had any krausen close to the top. But if you're still worried, you could use a blow off like the post above mentioned.

__________________
Grantman1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 01:22 PM   #6
Odinperez
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thank you all for sharing your experiences. This information is very useful to me!

__________________
Odinperez is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2013, 02:01 PM   #7
Calichusetts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plymouth, MA
Posts: 2,026
Liked 150 Times on 121 Posts
Likes Given: 476

Default

Better yet...brew 3.5 gallon batches in a 5 gallon carboy. If you need to secondary (fruit, oak, dry hop, etc) you can get a 3 gallon carboy and completely fill it, no worries of headspace and oxygen

__________________
Calichusetts is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2013, 02:12 PM   #8
bobbrews
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sierra, Nevada
Posts: 3,488
Liked 273 Times on 235 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Excess headspace in the primary is a non-issue... in fact, there may be some added benefits, one of which includes a thicker/denser 02 blanket to protect the beer. Excess headspace in the secondary however is certainly an issue.

__________________
bobbrews is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2013, 02:17 PM   #9
Hopper5000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 967
Liked 50 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Default

I've done it plenty of times with no issues (im doing 3.75 gal). Only tricky part is getting a gravity reading/sample as my theif is barely long enough.

__________________
Hopper5000 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2013, 05:07 PM   #10
brewfreeordie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: manchester, nh
Posts: 83
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

I could see it being a problem in the secondary if the batch is pretty much fermented out, but there's so much CO2 being pushed out the airlock it must be completely blanketing the wort. I could see if you move your containers around a lot, but if you don't invade the space I don't see a problem.



__________________
brewfreeordie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2x 4g batches for 5g carboys?? OkashiiBrew Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 5 04-09-2012 11:33 PM
Fermenting smaller batches in 5 or 6.5G carboys TheGrouch Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 11-10-2011 06:01 PM
3 batches, 2 carboys Slipgate Wine Making Forum 5 12-22-2009 12:06 AM
6.5 gallon carboys for secondary w/ 5 gal. batches gubby Fermentation & Yeast 8 10-22-2009 03:39 PM
Help! White 'stuff' on top of fermenting batches in carboys? kiarrith General Techniques 4 06-14-2008 05:14 PM