Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Using a Turkey Fryer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2010, 08:30 AM   #1
cockybitz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default Using a Turkey Fryer

I guess I don't quite understand this? Do you just use the main kettle with your wort in it to do your boil? What kind of longevity do you get from a Bayou brand fryer?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2010, 11:09 AM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2774 Times on 1659 Posts
Likes Given: 3489

Some use the kettle that comes with it, some use something else. I've been using my kettle for about 4 years now.

My preboil volumes tend to be about 6.5 gallons boiled down to 5 so the 7.5 gallon fryer kettle has worked fine for me.

As to longevity, I don't get what you mean, are you asking how many boils from one tank of propane you get, or how long til the bayoo brand rusts and falls apart? I'm not quite sure what you are asking.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman

I gotta tell ya, just between us girls, that Revvy is HOT. Very tall, gorgeous grey hair and a terrific smile. He's very good looking in person, with a charismatic personality... he drives like a ****ing maniac! - YooperBrew

Old 11-19-2010, 01:21 PM   #3
wyzazz
Recipes 

Liked 41 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 49

I've had my turkey fryer for 8 years & the aluminum pot (only used for turkeys) just finally got a pinhole in the bottom. For brewing I use the same burner and a keggle, I can't see the stainless ever getting a pinhole in it or ever needing replaced.