Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Trouble setting up johnson controls a419

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2010, 05:27 AM   #1
texbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Trouble setting up johnson controls a419

I just bought a Holiday 5.0 cubic ft chest freezer to ferment and store. I want to make sure that I am setting my Johnson Controls A419 thermostat correctly. I am brand new to this contraption, so any help would be appreciated!

I am going to brew and ale that needs to be fermented at 68 degrees. How should I set the SP, Diff, and ASD? Maybe a little more explanation of how these controls work (I need the dumbed down version please!). I have set the jumpers to cut-out at the set temp.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2010, 08:30 AM   #2
Drbobcat
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

I have the same freezer and controller. To ferment at 68 degrees I would set my controller to SP of 67*, Diff to 1*, and the ASD to max (12 minutes). The set point is the temperature you want to maintain, the differential is the acceptable range for the controller...so if the set point is 68* the the freezer won't be turned on until the the unit is over 69* and it will be turned off at 67*, the ASD (anti short cycle) prevents the freezer from being turned on too frequently and burning out the motor. I happen to set my unit 1 degree colder than my fermentation temperature because that is what works for me. You will need to experiment with your unit. Whether you want to put your probe in a thermowell or attach it to the side of your fermenter is another issue. There are plenty of posts about that, I personally attach it to the side of my fermenter.
Good Luck and have a blast with the new toys.

Old 09-08-2010, 03:27 AM   #3
texbrewer
Recipes