Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Tips on keeping the Mrs. happy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2012, 03:57 PM   #1
Boek
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Tips on keeping the Mrs. happy

I know many homebrewers who have managed to permanently offend their women with their brewing habits. Something about the smell, the mess, the time, the alcohol and other factors that accompany homebrewing that tend to be a bit of a turnoff.

I am new to this and don't want to go down that lonely road. Any tips?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2012, 03:59 PM   #2
mcarb
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Become completely incompetent at everything else in your home life. Screw it up immensely. But when you brew beer, do it well. She will ask you to brew just to stay out of her hair.

This method has worked well for me. Of course, I figured it out by accident.

Primary: Flanders Brown Ale, Pliny the Rye
Secondary: Prickly Pear Sour Pale, Cranberry Mead
In Bottle: Choco Chili Porter, Dyslexia Beglian Tripel
On Tap: Haus Pale Ale, Irish Red, Eggnog Stout,

sarsnavy05 Likes This 
Old 03-05-2012, 04:09 PM   #3
TyTanium
Recipes 

Liked 543 Times on 382 Posts
Likes Given: 415

Encourage her to find a hobby too.

...and remember it's just a hobby. Be intentional about showing her that she comes first (e.g., work on honeydo list before brewing, don't skip date-night to brew, don't skimp on helping around the house...) If she views it as your escape from real life, she'll grow bitter toward it. If she views it as filling you with passion & excitement, she'll be excited for you, even if she doesn't give a rip about brewing. At least that's my experience.

Old 03-05-2012, 04:28 PM   #4
rifraf
Recipes 

Liked 195 Times on 150 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Quote:
Originally Posted by TyTanium
Encourage her to find a hobby too.