Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Sufficient Yeast Cells In Suspension After Lagering?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2006, 12:51 PM   #1
Evan!
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Sufficient Yeast Cells In Suspension After Lagering?

This is my first time lagering---just got a chest freezer and temp controlled. I was wondering, since lagering causes yeast to fall out of suspension faster, will there be enough yeast cells left in suspension after a couple months of lagering, in order to sufficiently carbonate the beer in bottles?

Along those lines, I've been noticing that beers which get longer conditioning time in secondary take longer to carbonate in bottle. I'm guessing that this is due to less yeast in suspension. As such, with these beers, I've taken to deliberately disturbing the yeast cake when racking to the bottling bucket. Bad idea?

.planned:
•Scottish 80/- •Sweet Stout •Roggenbier
.primary | bright:
98: Moss Hollow Soured '09 72: Oude Kriek 99: B-Weisse 102: Brett'd BDSA 104: Feat of Strength Helles Bock 105: Merkin Brown
.on tap | kegged:
XX: Moss Hollow Springs Sparkling Water 95: Gott Mit Uns German Pils 91b: Brown Willie's Oaked Abbey Ale 103: Merkin Stout
98: Yorkshire Special 100: Maple Porter 89: Cidre Saison 101: Steffiweizen '09 (#3)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2006, 02:04 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 133 Times on 126 Posts

Rousing the yeast negates the purpose of using a clearing tank. You would probably be better off adding a little fresh yeast to the bottling bucket. That way you don't have hop particles, etc in the bottles. Also, the yeast in the clearing tank are the least floccuant yeast in the batch, which means a long clearing time in the bottle. Use a high flocculation yeast like Cooper's or Munton's Gold or safale S-04. You only need a pinch (AKA 1 gram).