New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > step mash vs. infusion???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2008, 04:26 PM   #1
thenatibrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default step mash vs. infusion???

i was wondering if some of you "advanced" brewers could offer your opinion on step vs. infusion mashing. i am fairly new to AG and i try to read as much as i can about it. in the back of the book The Joy of Homebrewing are some recipes. everyone of them says to step mash??? is this necessary? are the real benefits to doing this process? the bottom line is will it make a
"better" beer? cannot wait to hear your thoughts.

-unknown monk

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-21-2008, 04:36 PM   #2
rnrchemnerd
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

For what it's worth, I get much better efficiency from step mashes (80% as opposed to 70%). I think the protein rest helps to solubilize the enzymes, and the constant stirring up to the saccharification rest and then up to the mash out temp really help. That said, the multi step infusion mashes aren't strictly required for most commercial malts. If you're using a significant portion of adjuncts (corn, rice, wheat), then your beer will benefit from a protein rest, but again, it's not strictly required. I hope that helps....

Old 05-21-2008, 04:59 PM   #3
AnOldUR
fer-men-TAY-shuhn

Recipes 

Liked 452 Times on 328 Posts
Likes Given: 355

Can’t a infusion mash be a step mash by "infusing" close to boiling water to increase the mash temperature for each step?

Old 05-21-2008, 05:06 PM   #4
k1v1116
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts