The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > some guidance please

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2012, 11:10 AM   #1
texasbrewnewb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default some guidance please

This is my first time posting on the website, so hello everyone.
I am in every sense an amateur to brewing. I recently became interested in taking on brewing as a hobby.

Hopefully this is the right place to post this thread, if it is not, please redirect me.
Well long story short i want to enter the brewing world with a couple basic small batches.
I am currently thinking of making a gallon of cider, a gallon of (I'm not sure what you would call this exactly, excuse the lack of knowledge) fermented strawberry juice, and a gallon of fermented peach juice. For all three i am using a dry wine yeast and i will be adding water and sugar. I have not ordered any air locks yet, would the balloon method suffice for a basic setup like this? Am i approaching this correctly? I don't have any fancy equipment to speak of, is this going to ruin anything? How long should it take these batches to ferment? Do i need to refrigerate my final product? How would i go about storing my final product? Lastly, is there any other simple recipes that yall would recommend? Thank you for taking the time to read this, i understand some of this could be googled, but i would rather have yalls individual opinions on such matters.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 11:35 AM   #2
BrewerBear
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 68 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Yes you can use the balloon method.There are alot of recipes located in the wine sub forum and the recipe database.I'm sure something there will be to your liking.Good luck and get to fermenting.

Old 12-13-2012, 06:13 PM   #3
TopherM
Vinz Clortho - the Keymaster of Gozer the Gozerian
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 372 Times on 295 Posts
Likes Given: 19