The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Refractometer problems

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2008, 08:17 AM   #1
GNBrews
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Refractometer problems

Let me preface this post by saying I'm a total newb at using my new refractometer.

My problem is that when measuring liquids that have any color other than water clear (eg. beer and wine), my refractometer (with ATC) is reading *much* higher than my hydrometer.

For instance, when I measure the gravity of a batch of Welch's wine I've been fermenting, my hydrometer reads 1.010. However, when I place a few drops on the refractometer, it measures 10.2% brix (1.041). Measuring the gravity of a batch of Apfelwein that's finished, my hydrometer reads 1.000. The refractometer reads 5.4% brix (1.021).

I played around with creating plain sugar water solutions, and the hydrometer and the refractometer definitely jive when measuring those.

Sugar water experiments:

Hydrometer Refractometer
1.013 3.2
1.025 6.0
1.052 13.0

What am I doing wrong?

EDIT: Nevermind, as I said I'm a total refractometer newb. Read more...duh. I didn't realize that you need to use some fancy algorithms to calculate the gravity once there is alcohol in solution. Guess this thing is useful only as a pre-fermentation measure.

Last edited by GNBrews; 12-25-2008 at 08:37 AM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2008, 05:15 AM   #2
scinerd3000
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 29

refractometer is thrown off if there is alcohol in the sample as well as by chunks or sediment. You need to make sure its a clean sample your using for comparison. Also make sure your hydrometer reads 1.000 at 60 degrees F or whatever its calibrated at. Calibrate the refractomter the same way. They should agree for the most part. ahh i just read your edit. good catch