Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > re-using yeast after a few months

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2005, 02:05 PM   #1
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default re-using yeast after a few months

I know that some (maybe a lot) of you guys will rack a new batch of wort into the primary, right on top of the trub from a previous batch and not pitch new yeast.

I've never done this before, because I always just used low-cost dried yeasts. However, I am now starting to experiment with different yeast strains, which has forced me to start buying the much more expensive smack-packs of Wyeast. Since I am now paying about 4 or 5 times as much for my yeast, I'd like to re-use the stuff for at least two batches.

The problem is, I like to bounce around and make a lot of different kinds of beer, so re-using a special yeast for two back-to-back batches doesn't work for me.

My Question
There is usually a small amount trub in my secondary, and it's basically just yeast. Ie; it is free of the extra 'junk' that is mixed in with the trub in my primary, like hops and other particulates.

If I put that yeast cake from the secondary into sterilized glass bottles and kept it in the fridge, could I re-use it after a few months time? My thinking is that keeping the stuff cold would shut the yeast down, and I might be able to make a starter from it when the time came and I needed one of these special kinds of yeast again after a couple of months.

Has anyone ever done this? How did it work for you?

-walker

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-30-2005, 03:15 PM   #2
Rhoobarb

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I decided to try this myself awhile ago. I used this method. Scroll down until you see the article Yeast Washing – (Quick and Dirty).