Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Questions - Anyone Brew an Eisbock?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2009, 07:29 PM   #1
CenturyStanding
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Questions - Anyone Brew an Eisbock?

So, I've been homebrewing for a few years now, pretty basic stuff, but over the past few months I've gotten much more involved in more experimental brews and techniques.

Anyway, I'm thinking of trying to brew a strong dark Belgian ale, something with a lot of dark fruit character, that I can freeze and seperate like an Eisbock, which (hopefully) will yield something reminiscent of a beer comparable to a Tawny Port (after decent aging).

Have any of you attempted Eisbock's or other frozen, separated beers before? What were the results? Any advice moving forward?

Most important, how much did freezing the beer increase the ABV? How much did it reduce the overall quantity?

I just want to get an idea of what I'm up against before I put the time and effort necessary into the brew.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-27-2009, 09:43 PM   #2
jollytim
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Here is a link to BYO that explains that of a 5 gallon dopplebock, you end with about 3.5 gallons after the freezing process.

http://www.byo.com/stories/recipes/a...ge/596-eisbock

I've heard two arguments on this, but AFIAK, you are condensing beer that has legally been brewed, and it's no longer considered distilling, but condensing, and therefore is legal. May vary from state to state.

I saw a video from the 'Basic Brewing' guys on this very process, using a Barleywine....

Now if you can make a Kulmbacher.... I would consider you a brewing god....

Old 10-28-2009, 01:39 PM   #3
cactusgarrett
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 8