Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > questions about brewing AHBS Pumpkin Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2008, 04:52 PM   #1
JamesJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default questions about brewing AHBS Pumpkin Ale

I plan to brew AHBS Pumpkin Ale kit this week, the extract version and was wondering when you put the spice pack that came with it in. During the boil or in the primary during fermentation? Also, just curious when in the process you added the pumpkin if you used any. The kit says it's optional. I went ahead and picked up 4 lbs of 100% pumpkin and plan to put it in the oven for 30 minutes. I was considering putting this into 2 grain bags and steeping it with the grains. Any thoughts or feedback is appreciated. I'm a noob slowly finding my way. Cheers!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2008, 05:05 PM   #2
wildwest450
Recipes 

Liked 164 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I believe I put mine in with 5 minutes left in the boil. You'll want to use it, I made the same kit when I was doing extract brews, it was excellent. The pumpkin will go into the boil, just be prepared to lose some beer, there will be mega trub from the pumpkin.

Old 08-26-2008, 05:14 PM   #3
FatMonsters
Recipes 

I put the spices in with 10 minutes left. I'm not really sure what time the spcies go into the boil will affect the flavor. I did it this way with my last year pumpkin and everyone said it was good, so I figured why mess with it. Maybe someone else can provide reasoning for the time the spices go in??

As for the pumpkin, right into the boil. Scoop it from the pan to the kettle. I don't strain the wort when the boil is done either, just pour it all into the fermenter.

Old 08-29-2008, 06:27 AM   #4
DLDave1978
Recipes 

Since someone else is asking about AHS Pumpkin, I'll throw my question, or potential problem out: