Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Question about swamp cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2013, 08:06 AM   #1
h-bar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 33

Default Question about swamp cooling

Just some background: I live in Arizona, and I am a student. Summers are pretty harsh temperature wise, and I can't afford a second fridge for brewing at the moment. I get about 75 degrees at best. That being said, I haven't noticed that my summer beers have any of the horrendous off-flavors that supposedly appear above 70 degrees, and I've liked everything I've made.

Then again, maybe my beers would be tons better if the temperature were kept lower. I do have a cooler that would fit my carboy. I understand that the temperature is controlled by adding ice to water in the cooler. How easy and effective is this technique? I could easily see myself adding too much ice, not adding enough, and obsessing about it to no end. I could also see the ice melting during the day when I'm out, and the temperature going right back to room temp. Is there a fool-proof and stress-free way to do this?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2013, 09:06 AM   #2
GilSwillBasementBrews
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 164 Times on 135 Posts
Likes Given: 23

I don't recall the actual temp drop as I haven't swamp cooled in some time. But generally would freeze 4-6water bottles. Put 2-3 in the cooler in the morning. Then swap them with the others when I got home at night.

Beer Plus Science = .....Good!!!!! By: Adam Savage

Old 06-05-2013, 01:06 PM   #3
BrewerBear
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 75 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 32

I second using water bottles or pop bottles.

Old 06-05-2013, 02:16 PM   #4
looneybomber
Recipes