The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Question about cold aging.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2008, 03:30 AM   #1
Jaha35
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Question about cold aging.

I have an Altbier fermenting away and it won't be done for at least another 2 weeks now. I am planning on going 3-4 weeks with this brew in primary. I have been reading up on Altbier's and there is a lot of talk about cold aging them. My question is should I cold age my batch in a secondary (which I don't have but can get) or should I just bottle and cold age it while it is conditioning?

I have no problem waiting a month or two for that process I just don't know the specifics. I am a newb. Also what temp is good for this process? It's winter here so I could put them in the garage or basement for a colder temp. Thanks in advanced for any insight. Cheers

Primary 1: empty <=== How sad...
Primary 2: empty
Secondary: Otter's Altbier
Bottle Conditioning: Dovey's Broody Bitter Ale
Drinking: Monty's Irish Red Ale (MY FIRST HOME BREW!!!), Jaha's Root Beer
On Deck: Fuller's London Pride Clone, Newcastle Clone

Happy Holidays to all at HBT!!! Thanks for all the help. I have learned more from the great people on this forum than in any book or instruction manual!

"Life's too short to drink Domestic."

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2008, 04:06 AM   #2
Schlenkerla

Recipes 

Liked 81 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Bottle it, carb then cold condition.

Bottle your beer after its done. Hits FG. Let it carb for 3 weeks at 68-75F. See if it meets the level of carbonation you expect. Then bottle condition them. (stock the fridge with 12-24 at a time) If you cold condition them and then try to bottle you may have trouble with it carbing naturally. Alot of the yeast will drop out if you let it sit for a long time in the 2ndary.