The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Pouring Wort onto Used Yeast Cake...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2006, 01:58 PM   #1
Evan!
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 66 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Pouring Wort onto Used Yeast Cake...

I've never done this before, but I'm planning on doing it this weekend. My question is, I've left the cake sitting in the carboy (sealed) since Sunday when I racked off of it...so would it be helpful to pour a small starter batch into the carboy the night before I brew? Or is this unnecessary? If it hadn't been 2 weeks since the original pitch, and it hadn't been sitting alone for a week, I might not be so concerned, but in terms of decreasing lag time as much as possible, wouldn't a small starter poured onto the cake the night before serve to jumpstart the cake? Or is this completely unnecessary?

.planned:
•Scottish 80/- •Sweet Stout •Roggenbier
.primary | bright:
98: Moss Hollow Soured '09 72: Oude Kriek 99: B-Weisse 102: Brett'd BDSA 104: Feat of Strength Helles Bock 105: Merkin Brown
.on tap | kegged:
XX: Moss Hollow Springs Sparkling Water 95: Gott Mit Uns German Pils 91b: Brown Willie's Oaked Abbey Ale 103: Merkin Stout
98: Yorkshire Special 100: Maple Porter 89: Cidre Saison 101: Steffiweizen '09 (#3)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2006, 02:20 PM   #2
Ol' Grog
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

That's a really good question. Have to admit, I thought of that myself a couple of times as I'm interested in reusing yeast as well when I make the switch to liquid yeast. Hopefully the "pros" will kick in here, especially brewpastor, he used to own a brewery. I've read several arguments for/against using yeast cake with old trub. Some say it will affect the brew, some say it doesn't. I would think that if your making the same type of brew, it really wouldn't matter.

Old 11-16-2006, 03:03 PM   #3
cweston

Recipes