Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > New to the Hobby, please help

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2006, 02:32 AM   #1
oi oi punk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default New to the Hobby, please help

Hi, my name is Russ, a couple of my friends brew beer, i love a good homebrew/microbrew, and i am wondering where to get started.i recently decided to get a mr. beer kit, which i understand must be a complete joke to the people on this forum, however, i make a decent buck, and i am willing to put some money into making my "perfect beer". i was really wondering where the best place i could read upon this subject is.

just to give a quick background, i am a union electrician, 22 years of age, i live in syracuse NY, and that is about it.

I love just about any amber beers that i run into (War of 1812, Sacketts harbor, Rogues American Amber Ale) and i appreciate a good IPA, and sometimes a porter, if i am in the right mood. basically anything but winter wheat, and anything brewed with a fruit (except middle ages raspberry)

I look forward to viewing your forum.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2006, 02:41 AM   #2
sweet_corn
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

www.howtobrew.com is a great on-line resource. I was going to get the mr beer kit but went to my home brew store instead. I am glad I did. I just got a basic kit, but a few months and 5 great batches later, I am very happy I bought the HBS beginner kit.

Good luck to you!

Old 07-25-2006, 02:47 AM   #3
sirsloop
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

what you buy depends on what you are looking to do.

All grain brewing, or Extract brewing
Ale or Lagering?
Bottling or Kegging?
Cooking inside out outside?
How much beer do you want to make at once?
How much have you allocated to this hobby?

or all of the above?

Cheapest and easiest would be extract ale brewing on your home stove, and bottling.