Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Mixing Wort/Aging

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2013, 06:51 PM   #1
GaryWJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Mixing Wort/Aging

First, I am relatively new to brewing. In fact I've never tasted my own brew yet. But that doesn't keep me from wondering a few things. After countless hours of videos and reading on the forums I have yet to come across somebody that has mixed worts. Maybe it's just not feasible..but it seems to me the Sam Adams Utopias are something of this nature.

First. I have two batches fermenting right now, a wheat ale, and an IPA. They are both about done fermenting. What would happen if I were to rack them both into one secondary at this point? Better yet..what would happen if I dropped say 5 grams of candied sugar into this 1 gallon concoction, let it sit for three days. And maybe then after that boil up another batch of wort of a different kind of beer mixed it in with that stuff and pitched yeast onto that and let it ferment out? Then rack it into another vessel and let it mature for a week? What if I were to keep doing this until I had 10 different types of beer mixed together (being very very very careful about contamination), and then I bottle it and let it sit for a year in the dark before trying it?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2013, 06:55 PM   #2
GaryWJ
Recipes 

P.S. I'm not so concerned about taste as much as I am about creating something completely unique. I can learn to appreciate just about any taste.

Old 01-15-2013, 08:50 PM   #3
SC_Ryan
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 7

My guess is that one year from now you would have a bunch of stale, shitty beer.

Old 01-15-2013, 08:59 PM   #4
CityOChampBrew
Recipes 

Liked 58 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryWJ View Post