Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Maple Stout

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2010, 10:42 PM   #1
CanaltownBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Maple Stout

I am going to attempt a maple stout. I'm just wondering if there is a point at which you can reach "too much" maple syrup in the recipe. I plan to add a half gallon of maple syrup to the wort, and wonder if that will give me enough or too much maple flavor. Also, I'd like to use maple syrup to charge the bottling. I have seen recommendations from 1 to 2 cups for that purpose. Anyone have any ideas or suggestions in either regard? I'm a newbie, so any and all details are appreciated. Thanks!

Pat

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2010, 11:17 PM   #2
dcp27
Recipes 

Liked 121 Times on 117 Posts
Likes Given: 3

i havent done it yet, but from what I've heard adding maple syrup to the wort leads to woody flavors, not maple. I think with the lower grades of C and D you can retain some flavor though. I wouldn't use higher than B.
you can use this calculator to figure out how much to prime with: http://www.fattymattybrewing.com/hom...&section=sugar

Old 02-21-2010, 12:24 AM   #3
KayaBrew
Recipes 

Liked 125 Times on 109 Posts
Likes Given: 96

One technique to consider is to add the syrup to the wort at "high krausen". That is how I add Candi sugar to my Belgian ales. In theory, the yeast will be less stressed than if you add all that sugar before you pitch. As to the quantity of syrup, I'm sorry but I have no experience with that.

Old 02-21-2010, 04:55 AM   #4
iamatuna
Recipes 

Default maples

Hey

ive experimented a little with maple and here is what ive found

when i used maple in the primary and secondary i got a woody flavour, however when i primed with it i got a more pronounced maple flavour