Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > making a starter out of a bottle of beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2010, 04:21 AM   #1
cell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default making a starter out of a bottle of beer?

I'm planning to make a Hoegaarden clone (yes me too!) and I read that some people makes a yeast starters out of (commercial) beer bottles. How? Does it work? Do you pour the bottle inside your starter and wait? I'm planning to make a 2 gallon AG batch of beer.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2010, 12:56 PM   #2
Barc
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

While I'm no expert, I've done this several times successfully with various beers. Some folks will tell you that the yeast isn't the same for various reasons but I'm not one of them. I'm just going to provide a quick method, i.e. what works most of the time (without a stirplate).

1) a. Clean the bottle of beer you're going to be taking the yeast from well. You can use isopropyl alcohol to wipe it down or use some other method. While you're at it, clean the opener and a 6" X 6" piece of Al foil. Set the foil aside.

1) b. Make up a low gravity starter mixture, 1.030 or so will work, by boiling up a little DME and some water. It doesn't have to be a lot but you will want somewhere around a pint or so. Allow this to cool (or cool it yourself) and put it into a sterile container, like a boiled quart jar (and while you're boiling the quart jar, go ahead and boil the lid and ring). Set all this to the side.

2) Open the beer and gently pour your beer into a glass but don't touch the lip of the glass with the bottle. When you get most of the beer out, stop pouring. The goal is to NOT pour out the yeast into the glass.

3) Go around the lip of the bottle a few times with a flame (Bic lighter or the like) to sterilize it.