New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Major siphon issues....

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2011, 10:38 PM   #1
Flic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Major siphon issues....

So I've been brewing AG for several years and have never had an issue with basic siphoning from the fermenter to the bottling bucket (I use an auto-siphon). A couple brewings ago, I was having issues drawing air into the auto-siphon and also losing the siphon altogether. I usually use a mesh bag over the end since I dry-hop quite a bit. I thought maybe that was the issue but I still had the problem after removing it. Sooo, I bought a new auto-siphon thinking maybe the seals had worn but on my last two beers, same thing happened and lost nearly 2 gallons on each one. Very confused on this as there are a ton of bubbles when it siphons and at times it completely stops. Fermenter is always on kitchen counter with bottling bucket on floor . I even had to resort to adding water to the hose and tried to start my own siphon today but I couldn't even get that going. Any words of wisdom here?? I'm amazed that this problem is plaguing me and I need to solve it before my next batch.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2011, 10:51 PM   #2
whatsleftofyou
Third Eye Pried Wide
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I had a really hard time getting a siphon recently until I realized that my hose coming off of the auto-siphon was too long. Shortened it up and it was fine.

On Tap: Orange Chocolate Stout, Belgian Wit, Chocolate Rye Ale, Belgian Singel, American Pale Ale
Bottled: PB&J Sweet Stout, Belgian Saison, Brown Porter

Old 04-17-2011, 10:57 PM   #3
Schwind
Recipes