Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Lagering in plastic pale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2011, 08:20 PM   #1
Mobstar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Lagering in plastic pale

Good day.

Is it common practice to lager in a plastic pale or should I transfer to a carboy prior to lagering? I'm nervous about leaving it in there for 4 weeks. My recipe doesn't mention transferring to a carboy..

Thanks!

P.S. This is my first attempt at a Pilsner! I have a fridge to work with!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2011, 08:22 PM   #2
CoolHandLuke
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

No worries about lagering in your fermenter (plastic pale). It's definitely more important to just lager it, than to worry about the container type (plastic, glass, primary fermenter, etc).

Enjoy!

Old 02-23-2011, 12:02 AM   #3
Diver165
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Why would it matter if it is in a bucket or carboy? I've never lagered before, but I've sure make a **** load of ale in buckets and carboys. I personally prefer my buckets. I seem to make less mess. What's the difference other than the fermentation temps?

Old 02-23-2011, 12:21 AM   #4
JNish
Recipes 

The worry is that plastic does not completely provide a barrier to oxygen. Over time, oxygen can penetrate the plastic and oxidize the beer. I've been concerned about lagering in plastic buckets for this reason. However, oxidation reactions are also a function of temperature, and at lagering temperatures should occur very slowly. I'm not an expert on it, so I can't provide details on what rate oxygen penetration and oxidation reactions occur. However, the last lager I did was done completely in a plastic bucket for 2 months (1 month fermentation and 1 month lager) and it tastes great, no oxidation detectable.

Old 02-23-2011, 06:12 PM   #5
jtkratzer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes