Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > "Lagering" Ambient-Temp Lager

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2009, 07:01 PM   #1
paint_it_black
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default "Lagering" Ambient-Temp Lager

Hey guys -- I'm a newbie to the forums, but have been brewing for a few years. And for the longest time I wanted to make a great German-style lager but was unable to since I lacked equipment to keep it cool. Then I started reading The Complete Joy of Homebrewing and in it Charlie states that it's perfectly possible -- and indeed okay -- to use a lager yeast at ale temperature. So I gave it a shot with an Oktoberfest.
Now, I realize it will not come out as crisp and clean as a true lager, but what I'm curious about is aging (or "lagering") and bottle conditioning. After primary fermentation I racked it to a secondary, in which it's been for two weeks, still at ambient temperature (about 68 or so). Would it do me any good to leave it like that for a few more weeks, or would it do me any good to maybe pop it out in the garage where it might be a bit cooler and leave it out there for awhile?
Should I go ahead and bottle now or leave it off? And after I do bottle, should I let it condition at room temp, or cold-condition it?

Sorry for all the questions, but I appreciate any help or suggestions anyone can provide. Prost!

- Chris

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2009, 07:38 PM   #2
BargainFittings
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 50 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Cold conditioning will help the beer. Bottle it and condition it that way.

Not sure I agree about fermenting a lager strain at ale temps. It will make beer but not necessarily the profile desired.

Old 09-07-2010, 07:34 PM   #3
vicratlhead51
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1