Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > How the mashing process works

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2008, 04:53 PM   #1
gerrg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How the mashing process works

Hey everyone. Someone suggested that I try to make an oatmeal stout beer, Lil' Sparky's receipt. it requires mashing though and I've never done that before. Can anyone give me some pointers or give advice? Thanks!

peace
-gw

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2008, 04:57 PM   #2
c.n.budz

Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 18 Posts

It requires some equipment upgrades and is a more detailed process than extract w/ steeping grains. Read this section of how to brew. It'll probably be easier(and cheaper) to convert the recipe to extract w/ grains or even a partial mash

Always do sober what you do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut. -Ernest Hemingway

Old 01-23-2008, 05:01 PM   #3
sirsloop
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

You don't have to mash to make an oatmeal stout. You can just steep your oats in 150-160° water for 20 minutes, then use extract.

~~~~~~~_/_______| |____NOW TRIPLE HOPPED______|~~~~~~~~~~
~~~___/[_]| 00 /| | \,,,/\,,,/\,,,/\,,,/\,,,/ |~~~~~~~~~~
~~|___|___|___/_| |___________________________|~~~~~~~~~~
~~|=(*)[________]==(*)(*)=| \________/=(*)(*)=|~~~~~~~~~~

Old 01-23-2008, 05:17 PM   #4
Got Trub?
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

I would recommend you do a partial mash. It will introduce you to mashing in a small scale without the need for alot more equipment. You will get more flavour, fermentables and body if you mash the oats rather then steeping them. Check out the wiki for how to do it.

GT

Old 01-23-2008, 05:30 PM   #5
FatDuc

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerrg