How long should it take to brew 5 gallons?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hiphops

Reaction score
I am relatively new to home brewing and feel like it takes a lot more time than I think it should. It takes me about 5 hours from start to finish to brew a 5 gallon all grain batch. Of course, I have a tiny apartment and an even smaller kitchen, which (along with my bathtub to clean my 8 gallon brew pot) is where all my brewing takes place. Does this amount of time sound about right or am I missing something here?

5 hours from start to clean up doesn't sound bad to me at all. If you are doing AG and mash for an hour, vorlauf then do two batch sparges, that should put you at an 1-1/2 min. Then you boil for at least an hour, plus getting it to boil, another 1-1/2 hours. Cool dow,n pitch yeast and clean up...I'd say 5 hours is pretty good.

6 sounds better. I've been sitting here trying to figure out how cut and hour or so out of my brewday! haha :D I started at 11:00 on Sunday and was completely through with clean up at 4:30. Quickest brew I've ever had.

Here's how long my brew day takes:

- One homebrew to measure out grains while my strike water is heating.
- Two homebrews for the mash.
- Two homebrews for sparge.
- One homebrew waiting for the boil and hot break.
- Two (or three) homebrews during the boil.
- One homebrew while chilling.
- Two or six or nine homebrews cleaning up. Depending on how drunk I am from the previous steps.

RDWHAHB! :drunk: :drunk: :drunk: :D