Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > How to increase alcohol%

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2011, 02:48 PM   #1
Gordzilla
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default How to increase alcohol%

Im new to brewing and it seems like every brew i do the alcohol% comes in around 6-7.5%. Is there a simple and easy way to increase my beers alchohol% up to the 8.5-10% range? Exact products names and techniques would be great

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2011, 03:16 PM   #2
CTownBrewer
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

You need to add more fermentable sugars to your wort for the yeast to eat. If brewing all grain, increase your grain bill. If extract, increase your LME or DME by a few pounds. You could also play with things like honey or brown sugar in your recipes. Just make sure to take into account how a stronger malt presence will impact your hop schedule & amount/type of yeast you need...you may need to increase amounts to balance out your recipes.

I use the Brew Pal app on my iPhone when formulating recipes. You just plug in your fermentables, yeast, additions, hops, etc & it outputs your ABV & IBUs. So far it's been very accurate. There are a lot of these resources out there.

Sent from my iPhone using HB Talk

Secondary 1
: Port BA American Sour w/Raspberries
Secondary 2: Baltic Porter
Now On Tap: New Zealand IPA, Belgian Dark Strong w/Anise & Cinnamon, Imperial Red Ale
Upcoming Brews: Port BA American Sour w/Cherries, Doppelbock, Belgian Golden Strong, Peanut Butter Imperial Porter

Old 02-08-2011, 03:28 PM   #3
findlaym
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

beersmith will help with the calcs.