Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Hoping to make an ale that is like a pilsner...?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2009, 04:10 PM   #1
threeeight
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Hoping to make an ale that is like a pilsner...?

Hi all,
I'm a relatively new brewer, and I'd like to make a pilsner for a friend, but I don't have a way to ferment at lager temperatures.

So, given that making a proper pilsner is not possible, I'm wondering if anyone has any recipe or other recommendations for an ale which is similar to a pilsner.

Also, if this is not really feasible, tell me...like I said, I'm pretty new to homebrewing, and as more of a stouts and porters kind of guy, my familiarity with pilsner style is somewhat limited.

Thanks!

bottled: Bearskin Rug Barleywine (2010), Siberian Winter RIS (2011)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 04:13 PM   #2
Bokonon
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

If you use a kolsch yeast or even a really clean ale yeast (like WLP001, WY1056, or SafAle-05) and just ferment them as cool as you can you should be pretty happy

Old 06-29-2009, 04:28 PM   #3
chefchris
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I believe Sweetwater just released this very beer. I think it's their Road Trip. Maybe see if you can dig up a little info on that.

Primary: RIS, Flanders Red, Berliner Weisse

On Tap: Brown Ale, American Stout, Pumpkin Porter, Pale Ale, Uncle Muscle's IPA, Rowsdower Canadian Dry Stout

Bottled: Berliner Weisse

I think you are confuisng circle k with a reach around. - Denny's Evil Concoctions

Old 06-29-2009, 04:35 PM   #4
Cpt_Kirks
Recipes 

Liked 44 Times on 39 Posts

Here is my Pilsner ale:

10lbs Pilsner Malt
1.0lbs Flaked Wheat

US-05 yeast

Saaz (or similar) Hops

Boil for 90 minutes, the large amount of Pilsner needs it for DMS reduction. Ferment as cool as possible. I try to keep it around 62*F.