Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > H2o Questions....

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2006, 05:04 PM   #1
Mike-H
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default H2o Questions....

I am relatively new to brewing, this is my 2nd batch. My first batch had some off tastes which I suspect to poor brewing and bad water. My second batch I bought a 5 gallon jug of water only it was distilled. The yeast fermented just fine, its been about 2 weeks and its finally ready for secondary. I read what people said about minerals in water and that yeast need them. I also read about the need for O2 in the water.

The distilled water I bought had minerals added to it, I looked up the general mineral content of water and they seem to have added the same minerals that are in tap water. I'm guessing this is fine?

What about distilled water with minerals added and the o2 content? I boiled wart with 2.5 gallons water and put the remaining 2.5 gallons in the carboy. Once I siphoned the wart into the carboy with the other water I shook it vigerously for about a minute... Is this enough? What should I do?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2006, 05:54 PM   #2
kornkob
Resident Crazy Uncle
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Start with this: tell us what you mean by 'off flavors'? Many specific flavors point can indicate a specific kind of problem (or no problem at all-- merely a palate that is not used to some of the subtleties of HB).

Jason 'Kornkob' Robinson

I wanna move to Theory. Everything works in Theory.

Old 09-13-2006, 07:37 PM   #3
Mike-H

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

My question is about using distilled water with minerals added and if it is ok, I am not wondering about the "off flavors" in my beer.

Old 09-13-2006, 07:44 PM   #4
johnsma22

Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 26 Posts