*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > The easy way to drain a BIAB bag

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2013, 08:28 PM   #1
MagicSmoker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default The easy way to drain a BIAB bag

I'm a relatively new brewer, and an engineer by profession, so it was inevitable that I would start tinkering with the brewing process at some point. It didn't take me too many batches before I realized that BIAB was the way to go (for me, anyway), but one step I had already come to loathe was holding the ^%$#$ bag full of grain above the pot to let the absorbed wort drain out.

The solution I came up with - after spending more than I care to admit on aluminum boiling baskets, pulleys, etc. - is fairly simple: I just drilled a bunch of holes in the aluminum lid that came with my turkey fryer. I don't use the lid otherwise - I leave the pot uncovered during the boil, and cover it with a spatter screen when it is cooling down - so I figured what the heck... I removed the handle by grinding off the rivets then drilled a bunch of holes with a step drill (aka "Unibit") so I wouldn't have to deburr them, I had hoped. Sadly, they did require deburring anyway, so I lightly and quickly "kissed" each hole with a 1/2" twist drill bit and that took the burrs off reasonably well.

Today was the first test of FrankenLid, and I am proud to report it worked quite well:

biab_drain_lid_2.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-14-2013, 08:35 PM   #2
lowtones84
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 190