Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Dumping on a Yeast Cake?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2007, 03:44 PM   #1
5gBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Dumping on a Yeast Cake?

First off, Hi Guys & Gals, I'm new here, and love brewing beer

I've never done the yeast starter thing before, mostly because of laziness I suppose, but have often considered racking freshly brewed wort onto an existing yeast cake.

I hear that racking to a fresh yeast cake will get the fermentation process going faster, and will result in a lower FG; so I want to try it out, but have some questions. Here's what I'm working with:

I've got a Belgian Wit (Specialty grains with extract & belgian candi) fermenting in a 6.5g bucket as we speak. It's OG was @ 1.050 I'm planning on leaving the brew in there for a week and a half, and then racking to secondary. Before racking this beer to secondary, I was going to brew up another batch of the same beer, but with a higher OG (I'm shooting for at least 1.060).

Once I do rack the 1st beer to secondary, I want to dump the higher gravity Belgian Wit wort on the yeast cake from the 1st batch.

Here are my questions:

1) Will dumping on the entire yeast cake be too much for my 6.5g ale pail to handle with just an air lock, or will I have to rig up a blowoff tube?

2) If I scoop out (with a sanitized scooper of course) about half of the yeast cake, and then dump the fresh wort on top, would I need a blowoff tube, or would my airlock be sufficient?

Thanks for your help!

5gB

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2007, 04:09 PM   #2
Orfy
For the love of beer!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 30

IMO,

Yes and Yes.

I just racked straight onto a yeast cake from a 23L batch and it finish fermenting in under 12 hours from 1050 to 1010.